Category Archives: News


Here’s some insight into Matt Biolos’ shaping career and techniques provided by Stab magazine. Matt participated in the “Stab in the Dark” shaping competition where 12 shapers had to shape a board without knowing who it was for…it ended up being Julian Wilson. Check out Mayhem’s episode below.

Welcome back to Stab in the Dark. By now you’ve seen what Julian Wilson did with our collection of cleanskin boards form the world’s best shapers. You also know that Darren Handley (DHD) won. But, now it’s time to meet the gentry behind the other crafts that made for such compelling viewing in our mini-documentary.

Welcome to the short, fast and loud life of board #31, shaped by Matt ‘Mayhem’ Biolos. Matt’s been shaping for 28 years (he’s currently 45 years old) and is widely regarded as the best shaper for Southern California waves. But, he reaches far beyond the CA and #31 was one of thousands he made last year: “I used the foam, stringer and glass job that I use on all of Kolohe’s boards. It wasn’t a Huntington Beach go-go-go board. It was a board you could surf in powerful waves and push hard against it. It wasn’t a previously designed board, I put a bit of flare in it.”

Says Julian: “I liked the feel of this board, I reckon I could take it out anywhere and have a good time on it; lefts or rights. Spice is excitement, the feeling that really technical and high performance moves are possible.”

D.J. McKevlin Golden Gromfest











Dudes 11 & under Shortboard
1 Ben Allen
2 Griffin Jackson
3 Keller Gerard
4 Jasper Fun
5 Brycen Depass
6 Will Morrow

Dudes 12-14 Shortboard
1 McHenry Jackson
2 Jimmy Thompson
3 Jack Spahr
4 Jasper Millis
5 Simon Aktar
6 Carson Jones

Dudes 15-18 Shortboard
1 Cory Jackson
2 Sean Deloach
3 Naia Pieniak
4 Hartley Depass
5 Kyle Geesey
6 Ben Alexander

Dudes 14 & under Longboard
1 Griffin Jackson
2 McHenry Jackson
3 Ben Allen
4 Alden Ray
5 Simon Aktar
6 Jasper Millis

Dudes 15-18 Longboard
1 Hartley DePass
2 Cory Jackson
3 Naia Pieniak
4 Sean Deloach
5 Cameron Jones
6 Connor Sneed

Little Dudes Hot Wave
1 Jasper Millis
2 Griffin Jackson
3 Simon Aktar
4 Brycen DePass
5 Ben Allen
6 Avery Fun

Hot Wave Knockout
1 Cory Jackson
2 Hartley Depass
3 McHenry Jackson
4 Brycen Depass
5 Cameron Jones
6 Alden Klemm

Wahines 11 & under Shortboard
1 Betty Lou Johnson
2 Sylvia Windham
3 Ana David
4 Dejonee Mars
5 Rachel Roberts Seal
6 Reese Myers

Wahines 12-14 Shortboard
1 Rose Windham
2 Hampden Thomas
3 Sofia David
4 Darby Cooksey
5 Hannah Rhea
6 Josey Wetzel

Wahines 15-18 Shortboard
1 Olivia Dilling
2 Abbey Butts

Wahines 14 & under Longboard
1 Rose Windham
2 Sofia David
3 Hampden Thomas
4 Sylvia Windham
5 Ana David
6 Saylor Emmart

Wahines 15-18 Longboard
1 Olivia Dilling
2 Abbey Butts

Tandem Team
1 Hartley Depass/Ben Allen
2 Lilli Ray/Sylvia Windham
3 Cory Jackson/Cooper Dixon
4 Kate Poore/Rose Windham
5 Brycen Depass/Olivia Dilling
6 Alika Thorvalson/Jasper Fun

This year’s McKevlin’s Gromfest is scheduled for July 11 & 12 at the Washout, Folly Beach. Since this is the shop’s 50th year, we’ve re-named the contest – the 2015 D.J. McKevlin Golden Gromfest.

Competition and Prizes: There will be a total of 10 divisions for Girls and Boys 18 years old or younger. Every contestant (regardless of placing) will be entered in the FREE raffle for a brand new …Lost Surfboard of their choice AND a GoPro Hero 4 Black camera. Everyone also receives a FREE contest t-shirt created by artist, Chris Kemp. All finalists in every division receive a valuable prize package full of goodies from our sponsors including a …Lost SurfSkate. And, the top 3 finishers in each division receive Golden trophies!

Throughout the contest we will have prizes and games for everyone on the beach including skill challenges conducted by our friends from Sky Zone.

Do Not Miss This Event – you can enter now at McKevlin’s Surf Shop

Screen shot 2015-06-25 at 1.30.14 PM