…on his Mayhem shaped board. In one of the most exciting finals we’ve seen in a while CJ Hobgood won the 2011 Azores Prime with two waves in the last minutes of the final to overtake San Clemente local Nate Yeomans. Nate was dominating the final until the final 5 minutes when CJ launched a big frontside air for a 9.03. Nate answered right back with a couple snaps into a frontside air of his own for an 8.33 to retake the lead. CJ then needed a 6.3 with 44 seconds left when he took off on a wedging left and did a big fins out tail blast turn, coming down with his tail facing the beach and riding out clean for an 8.5 to take the win from Yeomans. Congrats to both surfers and great final.

For complete results go to ASPWORLDTOUR.COM

The blowtail that won CJ the final.

The thrill of victory. Looked like Cory Lopez and Gabe Kling were running out of steam when they finally got CJ to the podium.

Kolohe Andino made the quarter-finals and another big jump in the ratings.

Kolohe Andino